Osteopathic Continuous Certification (OCC) - General

There are five (5) Components to the OCC process:

Component 1 - Unrestricted Licensure

Requires that physicians who are board-certified by the American Osteopathic Association (AOA) hold a valid, unrestricted license to practice medicine in one of the 50 states.  In addition, these physicians are required to adhere to the AOA's Code of Ethics.

Component 2 - Lifelong Learning/Continuing Medical Education

Consistent with your current commitment to lifelong learning, this component requires that all recertifying physicians fulfill a minimum 120 credits of continuing medical education (CME) during each three-year CME cycle.  Also, requires that a minimum of 50 credits must be in the primary specialty area of certification, and a minimum of 13 credits be earned in each subspecialty area of certification as applicable.

Component 3 - Cognitive Assessment

Requires provision of one (or more) psychometrically valid and proctored examinations that assess a physician's specialty medical knowledge, as well as core competencies in the provision of heath care.

Component 4 - Practice Performance Assessment and Improvement

Requires that you engage in continuous quality improvement through comparison of personal practice performance measured against national standards for your medical specialty.

Component 5 - Continuous AOA Membership

Membership in the professional osteopathic community through the AOA provides you with online technology, practice management assistance, national advocacy for DOs and the profession, access to professional publications, and continuing medical education opportunities.

Click here for more information on AOBNP FAQS.